Kenny Burrell & John Coltrane – Why Was I Born ? (1958)

Why Was I Born ? is the fourth track on the album Kenny Burrell & John Coltrane, recorded in Hackensack, NJ, March 7, 1958.

Kenny Burrell and John Coltrane is an album credited to jazz  musicians Kenny Burrell and John Coltrane. It was originally released on the New Jazz label as NJ 8276 in 1963, then reissued in 1967 on Prestige as PRLP 7532, with a different cover and retitled The Kenny Burrell Quintet With John Coltrane. [source]

Kenny Burrel – Guitar / John Coltrane – Tenor Saxophone / Tommy Flanagan – Piano /                 Paul Chambers – Bass / Jimmy Cob – Drums




Miles Davis Quintet – Freedom Jazz Dance (1966)

Freedom Jazz Dance, written by Eddie Harris, is the second track on the B-side of the album Miles Smiles  by Miles Davis Quintet.

Miles Smiles is an album by jazz musician Miles Davis, released in January 1967 on Columbia Records. It was recorded by Davis and his second quintet at Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City on October 24 and October 25, 1966. It is the second of five albums recorded by Davis’s second great quintet, which featured saxophonist Wayne Shorter, pianist Herbie Hancock, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Tony Williams. [source]

Miles Davis – Trumpet
Wayne Shorter – Tenor Saxophone
Herbie Hancock – Piano
Ron Carter – Double Bass
Tony Williams – Drums


Sonny Murray – Black Art (read by Amiri Baraka) (1965)

Black Art read by Amiri Baraka is the last track on the album Sonny’s Time Now  by Sonny Murray. Recorded in NY, November 1965. Murray’s first album as a leader, originally released on Amiri Baraka’s Jihad label in 1965.

Particularly of note is the Amiri Baraka (then-Leroi Jones) recitation, “Black Art.” While not altogether different than “Sweet-Black Dada Nihilismus,” a similar reading from the self-titled New York Art Quartet record, “Black Art” is a much more bleak and (at least potentially) upsetting piece. [source]

Henry Grimes – Bass
Louis Worrel – Bass
Sunny Murray – Percussion
Albert Ayler – Tenor Saxophone
Don Cherry – Trumpet
LeRoy Jones – Voice



Booker Little – Moods In Free Time (1961)

Moods In Free Time is from the album Out Front by Booker Little, recorded in New York, spring 1961, and first released on Candid ame year.

Booker Little was the first trumpet soloist to emerge in jazz after the death of Clifford Brown to have his own sound. His tragically brief life (he died at age 23 later in 1961) cut short what would have certainly been a major career. Little, on this sextet date with multi-reedist Eric Dolphy, trombonist Julian Priester, and drummer Max Roach, shows that his playing was really beyond bebop. His seven now-obscure originals (several of which deserve to be revived) are challenging for the soloists and there are many strong moments during these consistently challenging and satisfying performances. [source]

Booker Little – Trumpet
Eric Dolphy – Alt Saxophone, Flute, Bass Clarinet
Ron Carter – Bass
Julian Priester – Trombone
Max Roach – Drums, Vibraphone
Don Friedman – Piano



Pharoah Sanders – Balance (1969)

Balance is second track on Izipho Zam (My Gifts) by Pharoah Sanders, recorded January 14, 1969 and released on Strata-East in 1973.

Two years after the death of his mentor and boss, John Coltrane, and just before signing his own contract with Impulse!, Pharoah Sanders finally got around to releasing an album as a leader apart from the Impulse! family. Enlisting a cast of characters no less than 13 in number, Sanders proved that his time with Coltrane and his Impulse! debut, Tauhid, was not a fluke. Though hated by many of the jazz musicians at the time – and more jazz critics who felt Coltrane had lost his way musically the minute he put together the final quintet – Sanders followed his own muse to the edges of Eastern music and sometimes completely outside the borderlines of what could be called jazz. That said, Izipho Zam is a wonderful recording, full of the depth of vision and heartfelt soul that has informed every recording of Sanders since. Guests include Sonny Sharrock, Lonnie Liston Smith, Chief Bey, Cecil McBee, Sirone, Sonny Fortune, Billy Hart, Howard Johnson, and others.

“Balance,” the first blowing tune on the set, with the African drums, the modal horns, and Sanders’ microtonal investigations of sonic polarity contrasted with Johnson’s tuba, leaving the rhythm section to join him as Sharrock and Smith trade drone lines and Sanders turns it into a Latin dance from outer space about halfway through to the end — it’s astonishing.

– an exhilarating, indispensable out jazz experience. [source]

Sonny Fortune – Alto Saxophone
Cecil McBee – Bass
Sirone Norris Jones – Bass
Billy Hart – Drums
Majeed Shabazz – Drums
Chief Bey – African Drums
Sonny Sherrock – Guitar
Nat Bettis – Percussion
Tony Wiles – Percussion
Lonnie Liston Smith – Piano
Pharoah Sanders –  Saxophone, Percussion, Vocal, Flute
Howard Johnson –  Tuba
Leon Thomas – Percussion, Vocal
Tony Wylie – Percussion



Bill Dixon & Exlploding Star Orchestra – Constellations For Innerlight Projections (For Bill Dixon) (2007)

A live-in-the-studio recording documenting the material debuted at a 2007 Chicago gig by free jazz legend Bill Dixon and fellow trumpeter Rob Mazurek´s current group the Exploding Star Orchestra, this set consists of Dixon´s two-part “Entrances” and Mazurek´s “Constellations for Innerlight Projections (For Bill Dixon).” [source]

Matthew Lux – Bass
Matt Bauder – Clarinet, Saxophone
Josh Berman – Cornet
Jason Ajemian – Double Bass
John Herndon – Drums
Mike Reed – Drums, Timpani
Nicole Mitchell – Flute, Voice
Jeff Parker – Guitar
Jim Baker – Piano
Rob Mazurek – Cornet
Jeb Bishop – Trombone
Bill Dixon – Trumpet
Jason Adasiewicz – Vibraphone, Bells [Tubular]
Damon Locks – Voice



Archie Shepp / Bill Dixon Quartet – Somewhere (1962)

Somewhere is the last track on the album Bill Dixon Quartet by Archie Shepp, recorded in New York, October 1962 and released on BYG Records.

Archie Shepp – Bill Dixon Quartet is the debut album by saxophonist Archie Shepp and trumpeter Dill Dixon released on the Savoy label in 1962. The album features three performances by Shepp & Dixon with Don Moore and Paul Cohen and a version of Ornette Coleman´s composition “Peace” with Reggie Workman and Howard McRae. The album was also rereleased in 1970 as Peace on the French BYG label and on CD in 2010 as a “unauthorized European” edition on the Free Factory label. [source]

Archie Shepp – Tenor Saxophone
Bill Dixon – Trumpet
Don Moore – Bass
Paul Cohen – Drums