Miles Davis, Robert Glasper ft. Erykah Badu – Maiysha (So Long) (2016)


“I think Miles would’ve loved Erykah,” pianist and producer Robert Glasper told Rolling Stone recently, during a conversation about Everything’s Beautiful, an upcoming album on which he reworked snippets of Miles Davis’ studio recordings to create entirely new tracks. One of the highlights of the release, which stemmed from Glasper’s soundtrack work for Don Cheadle’s audacious Davis biopic, Miles Ahead, is a simmering bossa nova version of “Maiysha” – a song originally released on 1974’s Get Up With It – featuring lead vocals from Erykah Badu.

Randy Brecker – The New Frontier (2015)


Donald Fagen’s “The New Frontier” from Randy Brecker’s new recording RandyPOP! Live, which features Kenny Werner’s recasting of classic recordings that Randy played on. Recorded live at the Blue Note, Randy’s group includes Kenny on piano, David Sanchez on tenor, Adam Rogers on guitar, John Patitucci on bass and Nate Smith on drums, with special guest Amanda Brecker on vocals.

David Murray Infinity Quartet – Be my Monster Love (2013)

Have you ever loved mega monster much ? The titeltrack pleads; Be my Monster Love, on the album from 2013 by David Murray Infinity Quartet.

If jazz is ever to escape from the “specialist” ghetto in which it finds itself in 2013 the simple truth is that we need more people with the vision of David Murray and more records as good as this one. [source]

Tracks: French Kiss For Valerie; Be My Monster Love; Stressology; Army of the Faithful; Sorrow Song; About The Children; The Graduate; Hope Is A Thing With Feathers.

Lineup: David Murray – Tenor Saxophone / Jaribu Shahid  – Bass / Nasheet Waits – Drums / Marc Cary – Piano, Organ



Aki Takase – Walking Batterie Woman (2007)

Number two track on the album Something Sweet, Something Tender by Aki Takase. Recorded, mixed and mastered May 28-30, June 17. 2007 at Audio Cue Studio Berlin.

Aki Takase (born January 26, 1948 in Osaka) is a Japanese jazz pianist and composer. Raised in Tokyo, Takase studied music at Toho Gakuen School of Music. [source]

Aki Takase – Piano