Eric Dolphy – Inner Flight I & II (1960)

From the album Other Aspects by Eric Dolphy.

Other Aspects is unlike any other title in Eric Dolphy’s catalog. [source]

Eric Dolphy – Flute







Eric Dolphy – Something Sweet, Something Tender (1964)

Second track on the album Out to Lunch by Eric Dolphy.

Much has been written about Dolphy’s odd time signatures, wide-interval leaps, and flirtations with atonality. And those preoccupations reach their peak on Out to Lunch, which is less rooted in bop tradition than anything Dolphy had ever done.  [source]

Eric Dolphy – flute, alto saxophone / Freddie Hubbard – trumpet / Bobby Hutcherson – vibraphone / Richard Davis – bass / Anthony Williams – drums



Eric Dolphy/Booker Little quintet – Aggression (1961)

Aggression is recorded July 16, 1961. It appears on the second of three sets that document the Eric Dolphy / Booker Little quintet’s playing at the Five Spot

At the Five Spot volumes one and two is a pair of jazz albums documenting one night (16 July 1961) from the end of Eric Dolphy and Booker Little’s two-week residency at the Five Spot in New York. This was the only night to be recorded; the engineer was Rudy Van Gelder. [source]

An excellent set that records what may have been Dolphy’s finest group ever, as well as one of that era’s best working bands. [source]

Eric Dolphy – alto saxophone, bass clarinet, flute / Booker Little – trumpet / Mal Waldron – piano / Richard Davis – double bass / Ed Blackwell – drums



The Paul Horn Quintet – Mr. Bond (1960)

from the album “Something Blue” by Paul Horn, recorded march 1960.

Years before Paul Horn became famous for his pioneering new age and mood music albums, he was an adventurous bop-based improviser trying to create an alternative to the hard bop music of the era. [source]

Paul Horn – Saxophone, Flute
Emil Richards – Vibes
Jimmy Bond – Bass
Paul Moer – Piano
Billy Higgins – Drums

Composed by Paul Moer
Produced by David Axelrod



Don Rendell & Ian Carr – Black Marigolds (1968)

Don Rendell Ian Carr from 1968 accompanied by Michael Garrick – Piano; Dave Green – Bass; Trevor Tomkins – Drums.
An essential piece of British jazz – end of story. [source]

Dave Green –  Bass
Trevor Tomkins – Drums
Michael Garrick – Piano
Don Rendell – Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute
Ian Carr – Trumpet, Flugelhorn



Henry Threadgill & Make A Move – Don’t Turn Around (2001)

Don’t Turn Around is the second track on the CD Everybodys Mouth’s a Book by Henry Threadgill and his band Make a Move, recorded in 2001 and released same year.

Everybodys Mouth’s a Book is an album by Henry Threadgill featuring eight of Threadgill’s compositions performed by Threadgill & Make a Move. The album was the first album on the Pi label and was released simultaneously with Up Popped the Two Lips by Threadgill’s Zooid in 2001. [source]

Brandon Ross – Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar
Henry Threadgill – Alto Saxophone, Flute, Producer, Composer, Arranged By
Dafnis Prieto – Drums
Stomu Takeishi – Electric Bass, Acoustic Bass
Bryan Carrot – Vibraphone, Marimba
Bill Laswell – Mixed By


Human Arts Ensemble with Oliver Lake & Lester Bowie – Under The Sun (1973) (full album)

Under The Sun is recorded in July 1973 in St. Louis, Missouri under the sun. The album is produced by the Committee for Universal Justice and released in 1974 on Universial Justice Records.

Side A. “Lover´s Desire” (26:00) is a free music symphony based on an Afganistan folk melody, ‘Lover’s Desire’  transcribed from radio Kabul. Arranged by Charles W. Shaw, James Marshall, Marty Ehrlich.                                                                                                                                     Side B. “Hazrat, The Sufi” (22:00) is composed by James Marshall and arranged by Charles W. Shaw, James Marshall, Marty Ehrlich.

Lester Bowie – Trumpet
Oliver Lake – Alto Sax
Marty Erlich – Alto Sax, Tin Flute, Small Instruments
Carol Marshall – Vocal and Small Instruments
James Marshall – Alto Sax, Wooden Flutes, Punji (Snake Charmer Flute), Small Instruments
J.D. Parran – Bass Clarinet, Soprano Sax, Flute, Piccolo, Harmonica, Small Instruments
Victor Reef – Trombone
Charles Bobo Shaw, Jr – Drums
Butch Smith – Bass
Abdallah Yakub – Percussion, Small Instruments, Voice
Alan Suits – Tamboura
Vincent Terrell – Cello