Art Ensemble of Chicago – Hail We Now Sing Joy (2003)

“Hail We Now Sing Joy”  is the first track on the reunion studio album The Meeting  released by the jazz group the Art Ensamble Chicago (AEOC). Recorded during the Spring of 2003 in Madison, Wisconsin, and released on August 19, 2003 on the international label Pi Recordings.

The album was met with mixed reviews. Allmusic´s Thom Jurek awarded the album 4 stars, saying that ultimately, the album “is a glorious reunion album, one that delights as it provokes.”

Most reviews comment that the absence of Lester Bowie is obvious.

[read more here]

Joseph Jarman – Flute, Percussion, Gong, Saxophone (Alto, Soprano, Tenor), Bells

Malachi Favors Maghostus – Bass, Percussion

Roscoe Mitchell – Flute, Piccolo, Saxophone (Alto, Bass, Soprano, Tenor)

Don Moye – Bongos, Conga, Drums



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s