John Hicks – Sweet Love Of Mine (2006)

Sweet Love Of Mine is the third track on the CD Sweet Love Of Mine by the Jazz pianist John Hicks, recorded and released in 2006.

A few weeks prior to his death on May 10, 2006, pianist John Hicks entered the recording studio for what was likely the final time to produce this memorable CD. His reflective ballad “One Peaceful Moment” is a meditative solo piano feature that opens the disc. Two additional solo features, “The Things We Did Last Summer” and the original “Sunset Blues,” continue the mood set by the opening track. Tenor saxophonist Javon Jackson’s heartfelt tenor sax is the perfect pairing with the leader in “Guess I’ll Hang My Tears Out to Dry.” Hicks’ wife (and frequent recording partner), Elise Wood, is added on flute in several Latin selections, including Woody Shaw´s lively “Sweet Love of Mine” and the pianist’s breezy “Peanut Butter Two,” which also feature percussionist Ray Mantilla. This excellent date is a fitting conclusion to John Hicks´ career. [source]

John Hicks – Piano / Javon Jackson – Tenor Saxophone / Victor Jones – Drums /                           Curtis Lundy – Bass / Ray Mantilla – Percussion / Elise Wood –  Flute



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s