Albert Ayler Quartet- The Hilversum Session (full album) (1964)

The Hilversum Session by Albert Ayler is one of those legendary recordings in free jazz. It was recorded in a Netherlands radio studio in front of a small invited audience, at the end of the Ayler Quartet’s European tour on November 9, 1964. The band — Ayler, Don Cherry, Gary Peacock and Sunny Murray — had been playing Ayler´s tunes for months and were uncanny in their ability to hear one another and improvise together at that point. It was also the last time the group would record together under Ayler´s name as a quartet, and they went out at a peak. The recording itself remained unissued until 1980 when it appeared on an LP on the long-defunct Osmosis label. [source]

All compositions by Albert Ayler except track B1.

A1. Angels (6:50) / A2. C.A.C (4:58) / A3. Ghosts (7:28) /                                                                         B1. Infant Happiness (Cherry) (6:04) / B2. Spirits (9:10) / B3. No Name (5:40)

Line up:

Gary Peacock – Bass  / Don Cherry – Cornet  /                                                                                               Sunny Murray – Drums / Albert Ayler – Tenor Saxophone







[Listen to the Trio version of Ghosts here]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s