Joe Henderson – Power To The People (1969)

Power to the People is the Title track of the album by jazz saxophonist Joe Henderson, released on Milestone in 1969, his first to feature an electric instrument.

This 1969 release finds Henderson with a near perfect rhythm section. It features imaginative compositions that easily make it a highlight of the accomplished musician’s career.

Power to the People is an appropriate title for a session filled with the sense of urgency and charisma found here. [source]

All pieces by Joe Henderson, unless otherwise noted.

1: Black Narcissus (4:50)
2: Afro-Centric (7:00)
3: Opus One-Point-Five (Ron Carter) (4:56)
4: Isotope (4:53)
5: Power to the People (8:42)
6: Lazy Afternoon (Moross, Latouche) (4:33)
7: Foresight and Afterthought (An Impromptu Suite in Three Movements) (7:33)


Joe Henderson – Tenor Saxophone
Mike Lawrence – Trumpet (2, 5)
Herbie Hancock – Piano (3, 4, 6), Electric Piano (1, 2, 5)
Ron Carter – Bass (Electric on 2, 5)
Jack DeJohnette – Drums



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s