Fred Frith – Step Across The Border (1990)

Step Across the Border is a 1990 avant-garde documentary film on English guitarist, composer and improviser Fred Frith. It was written and directed by Nicolas Humbert and Werner Penzel and released in Germany and Switzerland. The film was screened in cinemas in North America, South America, Europe and Japan, and on television in the United States, Germany, Switzerland, Austria and France. It was also released on VHS by RecRec Music (Switzerland) in 1990, and was later released on DVD by Winter & Winter (Germany) in 2003. [source]



Fred Frith – Same old me (1989)

From the film by Nicolas Humbert and Werner Penzel.

Shot in black and white, the 35mm documentary was filmed between 1988 and 1989 in studios, streets, concerts, rehearsals, fields, hotel rooms and sundry other locations in Japan, Italy, France, Germany, England, the United States and Switzerland, and shows Frith rehearsing, performing, giving interviews and relaxing.
Compiled with additons and alterations at Sound Fabrik, Munich Dec. 89.

Bill Laswell – Bass
Fred Maher – Drums
Fred Frith – Performer [Casio], Vocals, Guitar