New York Contemporary Five – Sound Barrier (1963)

Sound Barrier is from the album Consequences by New York Contemporary Five.

Consequences is the debut album by the New York Contemporary Five featuring saxophonist Archie Shepp and John Tchicai, trumpeter Don Cherry, bassist Don Moore and drummer J.C.Moses.  The album was released on the Fontana label in 1963. [source]

Consequences is recorded in New York City on August 23, 1963 except “Trio” recorded in Copenhagen, Denmark on October 12, 1963 :

1. “Sound Barrier” (Don Cherry) / 2. “Wo Wo” (John Tchicai) / 3. “Consequences” (Don Cherry) / 4. “Rufus” (Archie Schepp) / 5. “Crepuscule with Nellie” (Thelonious Monk) / 6. “Trio” (Bill Dixon)

John Tchicai – Alto Saxophone / Don Moore – Bass / J. C. Moses – Drums / Archie Shepp – Tenor Saxophone / Don Cherry – Trumpet














[via Ronnie Rocket]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s