McCoy Tyner – Passion Dance (full album) (1967)

The Real McCoy is the seventh album by jazz pianist McCoy Tyner and his first released on the Blue Note label. It was recorded on April 21, 1967 following Tyner’s departure from the John Coltrane Quartet and features performances by Tyner with Joe Henderson, Ron Carter and Elvin Jones. Producer Alfred Lion recalls the recording session as a “pure jazz session. There is absolutely no concession to commercialism, and there’s a deep, passionate love for the music embedded in each of the selections”  [source]

All compositions by  McCoy Tyner:

1. Passion Dance  (8:47),  2. Contemplation  (9:12),  3. Four by Five  (6:37),                                         4. Search for Peace  (6:32),  5. Blues on the Corner (5:58)

McCoy Tyner – Piano

Joe Henderson – Tenor saxophone

Ron Carter – Bass

Elvin Jones – Drums







Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s