Lee Morgan – Search for the New Land (1964)

Search for the New Land is an album by jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan. A hard bop set with a group of well-known jazz musicians, Search for the New Land was recorded before The Sidewinder was released and is considered more abstract than its popular predecessor. Although it was recorded in 1964, the album was shelved for two years, then issued with the original catalogue number 84169. It is described by jazz commentator Scott Yanow as “one of the finest Lee Morgan records”. [source]

Search For The New Land  /  The Joker  /  Mr. Kenyatta  /  Melancholee  /  Morgan The Pirate

Line Up:

Lee Morgan – trumpet
Wayne Shorter  – Tenor Sax
Herbie Hancock – Piano
Grant Green – Guitar
Reggie Workman – Bass
Billy Higgins – drums

Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer, remastering


One thought on “Lee Morgan – Search for the New Land (1964)

  1. Killer album. I actually stumbled on it as a Grant Green fan. The grooves are tight, and interplay between the musicians is amazing. Definitely deserves more attention than it gets relative to “The Sidewinder.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s